2020 Symposium

Wetterhahn Science Symposium

Due to the campus response to COVID-19, the 29th Annual Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium was CANCELED for 2020.  We look forward to next year's symposium in May 2021.

Keynote address: 5:30 p.m.

President Phil Hanlon delivered a keynote address for the Undergraduate Research Award Celebration, and announced 2020 winners.  The 2021 keynote, "The Power of FeMANists on Influencing Gender Equity," will be given by Dr. Mikki Hebl PhD '97.


Undergraduate research poster session: 1-4:15 p.m.

This year, Senior Honors Thesis presented their scientific research.   Students have faculty mentors from a wide range of scientific disciplines.  A list of this year's poster presenters is below.

Anela Arifi    How do biofuels affect soil fertility?
Klara Barbarossa    Neural mechanisms associated with learning what others think of us
Alana Bernys    The Chromatin Remodeler Brahma is Required for Accurate Segregation in Drosophila Oocytes
Ryan Blankemeier    Information Network Visualization and Navigation
Hanna Bliska    Elucidating aquatic and terrestrial linkages in Arctic arthropod food webs
James Bonham    Resilience of U.S. Energy Infrastructure to Climate Threats
Jack Burgess    Memory constraints in cued-recall-dependent learning and performance tasks: Why do humans struggle with simple yet memory-intensive tasks?
Anna Dodson    Toward Ryser: Exploring Maximal Graph Size in Generative Hypergraph Algorithms
Emma Esterman    Evolution of DNA Packaging in Gene Transfer Agents and Viruses
Maxell Farrens    Inter-subject representational similarity analysis reveals the brain dynamics underlying depression during the presentation of naturalistic stimuli
Louisa Greenburg    The Design, Synthesis, and Application of Electrically Conductive Metal Organic Frameworks in Lithium-ion Batteries
Eleanor Hall    Implications of fuel-reduction treatments for carbon storage and sequestration in semi-arid mixed conifer forests of north-central Washington State
Laura Jeliazkov    Photo-Healing of Polymers Using Hydrazone Pendant
Katherine Kane    Investigating Effects of Cell Type-Specific PTEN Knockdown on Nerve Regeneration in the Peripheral Nervous System
Jessica Kobsa    Piloting an At-Home Sustained Attention Training to Reduce Attention to Peripheral Food Cues
Shannon Kossmann    Biological and genetic comparison of x-ray and gamma ray radiation effects
Hannah Margolis     The Structure of Atg11CC3 and its Role in Atg32 Puncta Formation during Mitochondrial Autophagy Initiation 
Megan McCabe    Utilizing Neural Networks and Wearables to Quantify Hip Joint Angles and Moments During Walking  and Stair Ascent
Christopher Miller    Query-free adversarial transfer via undertraining
Mustafa Nasir-Moin    How does artificial intelligence affect histopathological evaluation of colorectal polyps?
Yusuf Olokoba    Deep Bilateral Exposure Fusion for Photography
Matthew Parker    CUPNET: Deep Learning Compressed Ultrafast Photography
Joshua Perlmutter    A Luminosity Function for Field Ultra-Diffuse Galaxies
Frederika Rentzeperis    The Effect of Buffer Therapy on the Acid-Mediated Transition to Malignancy: A Mathematical Model of Acidosis in Spheroid and Xenograft Culture
Andrea  Sedlacek    Simulations of Group Dynamics
Courtney Stump    A prophylactic murine ovarian cancer vaccine is protective and T cell-dependent
Tara Sweeney    Locating Continuous Rotations in the Electric Vector Position Angle of Blazars
Gregory Szypko    Modeling astrospheres of Sun-like and M-dwarf stars according to observable stellar parameters
Alexsandra Terrio    Exploring SREBPs and Hypoxia Adaptation in Scedosporium apiospermum
Mary Tobin    Arctic Sea Ice is Melting: How?
Hendric Tronsson    Feasibility of Electric Field Assisted Clogging Reduction in Cold Gas Spraying Nozzle
Carly Tymm    Molecular Solids as Sublimable Adhesives
Dayle Wang    Engineering an ER-targeted Dynein Anchor to Facilitate Nuclear Positioning in Yeast Cells
Kevin Yang    Analysis of Mycelium as a Low-Carbon Building Material
Jiahui Zhang    Exploration into Reducing Uncertainty in InverseProblems Using Markov Chain Monte Carlo Methods
Catherine Zhao    Computational Prediction of Antibody-Antigen Binding Mode and Affinity

The Christopher Reed Science Competition

The Competition will be judged on the day of the symposium by a panel of Sigma Xi members. The judges' evaluations are based on the quality and quantity of research and the effectiveness of the student's presentation.

The winners of the competition were announced at the end of the virtual keynote address. The award-winning powerpoints from the competition will be posted below by June 15. The winners also receive cash awards.

All seniors who participate in this competition and complete their thesis are nominated for Associate Membership in Sigma Xi. The competition is sponsored by the Dartmouth Chapter of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society.

The 2020 Sigma Xi first place winner:
Effective Prophylactic Murine Ovarian Cancer Vaccine by Courtney Stump, '20

WISP Sophomore Research Awards

The winners of the Crute and Folt awards were announced at the virtual Undergraduate Research Award Celebration.  These two scholarships allow highly motivated and deserving Dartmouth WISP interns to continue their research and mentoring experience during their sophomore year. Selected students continue their research with their first-year WISP mentor.  Criteria for each award can be found on the Sophomore Scholarships: Crute & Folt webpage.

The 2020 winners are:

Barbara E. Crute Memorial Award
Maia Madison '23
Characterization of a conserved epitope in influenza B hemagglutinin

Carol Folt Research Scholarship Award 
Citlalli Vergara '23
The vulnerability of soil carbon to climate change


WISP Research Engagement Award

The WISP Research Engagement Award recognizes a WISP Intern who have exhibited sustained engagement and enthusiasm about learning through research.

The 2020 winner is:  Chloe Fugle '23

Library Research in the Sciences Prize

This year's competition was cancelled.