Christopher G. Reed Science Competition

The competition, named in memory of the late Professor of Biology and Sigma Xi chapter officer Christopher Reed, is open to all senior honors thesis students majoring in science, math and engineering who present a poster at the Wetterhahn Science Symposium.

About the Competition

The Competition is judged on the day of the symposium by a panel of Sigma Xi members. The judges' evaluations are based on the quality and quantity of research and the effectiveness of the student's presentation.

The winners of the competition are announced at the start of the keynote address. The award-winning posters from the competition will be framed and put on display for the year in Kresge Physical Sciences Library student science research exhibit. The winners also receive cash awards.

All seniors who participate in this competition and complete their thesis will be nominated for Associate Membership in Sigma Xi. The competition is sponsored by the Dartmouth Chapter of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society.



Senior honors thesis students majoring in science (including neuroscience), math and engineering who present posters on their honors thesis research at the Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium.


Students who are interested in participating in the competition must indicate their interest on the online poster registration form.

Presentations to the judges

These will be scheduled in the afternoon prior to the symposium keynote address (generally between 12pm and 3pm). Each student will be given five minutes to summarize his/her poster and answer questions posed by the judges.


Bring your poster to Life Sciences Center at least one-half hour before your presentation time (which will be sent to you via email). Check in on the first floor to find out your poster location and pick up your nametag.

Poster session

Students participating in the competition are also expected to participate in the symposium poster session. This is an excellent opportunity to show others what you have accomplished this year, and you can include this event as a presentation on your resume.


Contact Professor Dean Wilcox, President of the Dartmouth Chapter of Sigma Xi.

2017 Christopher Reed Science Competition Prize Winners

1st Prizes:

Mallory Rutigliano (Biology)
A comparison of maternal and paternal mitochondrial dynamics in seven species of nematode
Advisor:  Erik Griffin

Isabella Caruso (Engineering)
Structure-Property-Processing Correlations in Freeze-Cast Collagen Scaffolds for Biomedical Applications
Advisor:  Ulrike Wegst

2nd Prizes:

Jonathan Huang (Psychology)
Helping the Visually Impaired Navigate Using Text Spotting: A HoloLens Application
Advisor:  Emily Cooper

Yichen Zhang (Engineering)
Circulating Tumor DNA Screening and Capture Chemistry for Pancreatic Cancer Detection
Advisor:  John Zhang

3rd Prize:

Joshua Perez (Earth Sciences)
Geochemical constraints on Middle Paleozoic Magmatism in the North Eastern Brooks Range of Alaska and Yukon Territory, Canada
Advisor:  Justin Strauss