2019 Symposium

Wetterhahn Science Symposium

The 28th Annual Wetterhahn Science Symposium will be held on Wednesday, May 22, 2019 in the Class of 1978 Life Sciences Center. Go to the Symposium webpage for more details about the event.

Keynote address: 4:30-5:30 p.m.

Keynote speaker: Paulina Jaramillo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Engineering & Public Policy and CMU Africa

Carnegie Mellon University

"Energy for Development in a Carbon-Constrained World: A Researcher’s Story"

Originally from Medellin, Colombia, Dr. Paulina Jaramillo has a bachelor’s degree in civil and environmental engineering from Florida International University (2003), as well as a master's degree and Ph.D. in civil and environmental engineering with an emphasis in green design from Carnegie Mellon University (2004 and 2007, respectively). She has been in the faculty in the Department of Engineering and Public Policy since 2010, was the executive director of the RenewElec project between 2010 and 2014, and is now the co-director of the Green Design Institute. Her past research focused on life cycle assessment of energy systems with an emphasis on climate change impacts and mitigation research. As a professor at Carnegie Mellon University, she is currently involved in multidisciplinary research projects to better understand the social, economic, and environmental implications of policy-driven changes in the operation of the U.S. energy system. Most recently, she has expanded the focus of her research to include issues related to energy access and development. Her interest in these matters stems from her firm belief that what happens in developing countries as they try to provide universal energy access will have profound implications in global environmental systems. There is an opportunity, however, to build innovative modern energy systems that benefit from decades of technological development and experience elsewhere. Through her research, Dr. Jaramillo aims to create the knowledge that will be required to meet global energy needs.

Undergraduate research poster session: 5:30-7:00 p.m.

Undergraduates, from first-year to senior, present their scientific research. Students presenting participated in a wide variety of programs, including Women in Science Program, Sophomore Science Scholar, Junior Scholar, Presidential Scholar, and Senior Honors Thesis.  Students have faculty mentors from a wide range of scientific disciplines.  Visitors can find posters in various classrooms and in the main corridors of both the first and second floors of the Class of 1978 Life Sciences Center. A list of this year's poster presenters will be in the program distributed at the symposium. 

2019 Christopher Reed Science Competition Prize Winners

The 2019 Sigma Xi winners include:

First Place: 
Claire Gasque, '19
A statistical study of the spatial extent of relativistic electron precipitation events.

Second Place:
Alex Derenchuk, '19
The 8.2 ka event in the Upper Valley: A record of severe Holocene climate change

Third Place: 
Katharine Horn, '19
Synonymous genetic variation dysregulates Parkinson's-associated protein alpha-synuclein

Olivia Hunter, '19
Biofilm production strategies of Vibrio cholerae impact bacterial fitness in marine environments

Sigma Xi recipients' posters can be viewed in the Kresge Physical Sciences Library in Fairchild Hall.

2019 Library Research in the Sciences Prize Winners

The 2019 Library Research in the Sciences recipients included:

Hannah I. Hoffman, '19
Hannah K. Margolis, '20

2019 WISP Research Engagement Award

The WISP Research Engagement Award recognizes WISP Interns who have exhibited sustained engagement and enthusiasm about learning through research. The recipients include:

The 2019 winners will be posted after the symposium.