Holy Day Calendar

2019 Religious Observances

The calendar below is a month-by-month listing of religious observances in 2018. The list includes the dates for some of the most important religious celebrations of the major religions. Some of these holy days include fasting or abstaining from specific food or drink for specified periods ranging from a month, to a day, to daylight hours (sunrise to sundown).

This list is by no means comprehensive. For additional holy day listings and descriptions, please consult the global Interfaith Calendar.

Calendar Details

* Some holy days start at sundown of the evening before the listed start date and end at sundown or nightfall of the concluding date listed.

# Some of these dates are not fixed to a calendar, but are based on the actual sighting of the moon and therefore there may be some variance by a day.

Major Holy Days - 2019

Major Religious Holidays January 2019 – December 2019

January

Solemnity of the Blessed Virgin Mary-Christian-January 1-Tuesday

Christmas (Feast of the Epiphany)-Eastern Orthodox- January 6-Sunday

Feast of the Nativity-Orthodox Christian- January 7-Monday

February

Imbolc-Wicca/Pagan-February 2-Saturday

Asian Lunar New Year -Confucian/Taoist /Buddhist-February 5-Tuesday

March

Ash Wednesday (Protestant and Roman Catholic Lenten season March 6- Apr 20)-Christian Maech 6-Wednesday

Orthodox Great Lent -Eastern Orthodox- March 11-Apr 28 -Monday-Sunday

Ostara-Wicca/Pagan-March 20-Wednesday

Holi -Hindu -March 20-21-Wednesday-Thursday

Purim -Jewish -March 20-21*-Wednesday-Thursday

Norooz (New Year)-Persian/Zoroastrian-March 21-Thursday

April

Laylat al Miraj-Islam-April 2-3*#-Tues-Wednesday

Palm Sunday-Christian-April 14-Sunday

Vaisakhi -Hindu/Sikh/Buddhist -April 14-Sunday

Mahavir Jayanti-Jain-April 17-Wednesday

Maundy Thursday-Christian-April 18-Thursday

Good Friday-Christian -April 19-Friday

Passover (Pesach – 8 days)-Jewish -Apr 19-27*-Friday-Satday

Easter-Christian-April 21-Sunday

Ridvan-Baha’i-April 21 -Sunday

Pascha -Orthodox Easter-April 28-Sunday

May

Beltane-Wicca/Pagan-May 1-Wednesday

Ramadan (30 days)-Islamic-May 5-June 4*# -Sunday-Tuesday

Vesak (Buddha Day)-Buddhist-May 18-Saturday

Buddah’s Birthday-Buddhist-May 22-Tuesday

Declaration of the Báb-Bahá'i-May 23*-Thursday

Ascension of Baha’ullah-Bahá'i- May 29-Wednesday

June

Eid al Fitr -Islamic -June 4-6*#-Tuesday-Thursday

Feast of Pentecost-Christian-June 9-Sunday

Shavuot-Jewish-June 8-10-Saturday-Monday

Litha-Yule (Solstice)-Wicca/Pagan-June 21-Friday

August

Lughnassad-Imbolc-Wicca/Pagan-August 1-Thursday

Eid al Adha-Islamic-August 11-August 12*#-Sunday-Monday

First of Muharram-Islamic-August 31-September 1*-Saturday-Sunday

September

Ganesh Chaturthi-Hindu-September 2-Monday

Paryushana Parva-Jain-September 3-Tuesday

Ashura-Islamic-September 9-10*#-Monday-Tuesday

Mabon-Wicca/Pagan-September 23-Mon

Rosh Hashanah [New Year]-Jewish-September 29-Oct 1*-Sunday-Tuesday

October

Navratri-Hindu-Sept 28-October 7-Saturday-Monday

Yom Kippur [Day of Atonement]-Jewish - October 8-9*-Tuesday-Wednesday

Sukkot [Feast of Tabernacles-7 days]-Jewish-October 13--20*-Sunday-Sunday

Birth of the Bab-Bahai’i-October 20*-Sunday

Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah-Jewish- October 20-22*-Sunday-Tuesday

Diwali -Jain/Sikh/Hindu-October 27-Sunday

Samhain-Wicca/Pagan-October 31-November 1*-Thurs-Friday

November

All Saints Day/Day of the Dead-Christian/Latinx-November 1-Friday

Guru Nanak Gurpurab-Sikh-November 12-Tuesday

December

Advent -Christian-December 1-24-Sun-Tuesday

Solemnity of the Blessed Virgin Mary/Feast of the Immaculate Conception-Christian-Dec. 8-Sunday

Bodhi Day (Rohatsu) -Buddhist-December 8-Sunday

Our Lady of Guadalupe-Christian-December 12-Thursday

Chanukah [8-days]-Jewish -Dec. 22-December 30*-Sunday-Monday

Christmas-Christian-December 25-Wednesday

Feast of the Holy Family-Christian-December 29-Sunday

Kwanzaa-African-American-December 26–Jan. 1-Thursday-Wednesday