Holy Day Calendar

2018 Religious Observances

The calendar below is a month-by-month listing of religious observances in 2018. The list includes the dates for some of the most important religious celebrations of the major religions. Some of these holy days include fasting or abstaining from specific food or drink for specified periods ranging from a month, to a day, to daylight hours (sunrise to sundown).

This list is by no means comprehensive. For additional holy day listings and descriptions, please consult the global Interfaith Calendar.

Calendar Details

* Some holy days start at sundown of the evening before the listed start date and end at sundown or nightfall of the concluding date listed.

# Some of these dates are not fixed to a calendar, but are based on the actual sighting of the moon and therefore there may be some variance by a day.

Major Holy Days 2017-2018 (PDF)

January 2018

Solemnity of the Blessed Virgin Mary

  • Monday, January 1
  • Christian

Christmas (Feast of the Epiphany)

  • Saturday, January 6
  • Eastern Orthodox

February 2018

Asian Lunar New Year

  • Friday, February 16
  • Confucian/Taoist/Buddhist

Orthodox Great Lent

  • Monday, February 19 – Saturday, April 7
  • Eastern Orthodox

Ash Wednesday (Protestant and Roman Catholic Lenten Season)

  • Wednesday, February 14
  • Christian

March 2018

Holi

  • Friday, March 2 – Saturday, March 3
  • Hindu

Purim

  • Thursday, March 1 – Friday, March 2*
  • Jewish

Palm Sunday

  • Sunday, March 25
  • Christian

Mahavir Jayanti

  • Thursday, March 29
  • Jain

Good Friday

  • Friday, March 30
  • Christian

April 2018

Easter

  • Sunday, April 1
  • Christian

Passover (Pesach – 8 days)

  • Saturday, March 31 – Sunday, April 1*
  • Jewish

Passover (Pesach)

  • Friday, April 6 – Saturday, April 7*
  • Jewish

Pascha

  • Sunday, April 8
  • Orthodox Easter

Vaisakhi

  • Friday, April 13 – Saturday, April 14
  • Hindu/Sikh/Buddhist

Ridvan

  • Saturday, April 21 – Wednesday, May 2
  • Baha'i

May 2018

Beltane

  • Tuesday, May 1
  • Wicca/Pagan

Ramadan (30 days)

  • Wednesday, May 16 – Friday, June 15*#
  • Islamic

Feast of Pentecost

  • Sunday, May 20
  • Christian

Shavuot

  • Sunday, May 20 – Monday, May 21
  • Jewish

Buddah's Birthday

  • Tuesday, May 22
  • Buddhist

Declaration of the Bab

  • Wednesday, May 23*
  • Baha'i

Vesak (Buddha Day)

  • Tuesday, May 29
  • Buddhist

June 2018

Eid al Fitr

  • Friday, June 15 – Sunday, June 17*#
  • Islamic

August 2018

Eid al Adha

  • Wednesday, August 22 – Saturday, August 25*#
  • Islamic

September 2018

Paryushana Parva

  • Thursday, September 6
  • Jain

Rosh Hashanah (New Year)

  • Monday, September 10 – Tuesday, September 11*
  • Jewish

First of Muharram

  • Monday, September 10 – Tuesday, September 11*
  • Islamic

Ganesh Chaturthi

  • Wednesday, September 12
  • Hindu

Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement)

  • Tuesday, September 19 – Wednesday, September 20*
  • Jewish

Ashura

  • Friday, September 21
  • Islamic

Mabon

  • Saturday, September 22
  • Wicca/Pagan

Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles) and Shemini Atzeret

  • Monday, September 24 – Monday, October 1*
  • Jewish

October 2018

Simchat Torah

  • Tuesday, October 2*
  • Jewish

Navratri

  • Tuesday, October 9 – Tuesday, October 16?
  • Hindu

Birth of the Bab

  • Saturday, October 20*
  • Baha'i

November 2018

All Saints Day/Day of the Dead

  • Thursday, November 1
  • Christian/Latinx

Samhain

  • Wednesday, October 31 – Thursday, November 1*
  • Wicca/Pagan

Diwali

  • Wednesday, November 7
  • Jain/Sikh/Hindu

Guru Nanak Gurpurab

  • Friday, November 23
  • Sikh

December 2018

Advent

  • Sunday, December 2 – Monday, December 24
  • Christian

Chanukah (8 Days)

  • Monday, December 3 – Monday, December 10
  • Jewish

Solemnity of the Blessed Virgin Mary/Feast of the Immaculate Conception

  • Saturday, December 8
  • Christian

Bodhi Day (Rohatsu)

  • Saturday, December 8
  • Buddhist

Our Lady of Guadalupe

  • Wednesday, December 12
  • Christian

Christmas

  • Tuesday, December 25
  • Christian

Feast of the Holy Family

  • Sunday, December 30
  • Christian

Kwanzaa

  • Wednesday, December 26 – Tuesday, January 1
  • African-American