Holy Day Calendar

Religious Observances 2022

The calendar below is a month-by-month listing of religious observances in all of 2022. This list includes the dates for some of the most important religious celebrations of the major religions.  Some of these holy days include fasting or abstaining from specific food or drink for specified periods ranging from a month to more than a day (25 hours) to daylight hours (sunrise to sundown).  Absence from work or classes is also common observance for some major holy days.

This list is by no means meant to be comprehensive.  For additional holy day listings and descriptions, please consult the following link: http://www.interfaith-calendar.org/2022.htm

Wondering if Tucker Center has local event information for an upcoming holy holiday?  Find out via email (tucker.center@dartmouth.edu), Instagram (@tuckerdartmouth), or check the Dartmouth Engage news feed.

Holy Day Calendar January 2022 – December 2022

Solemnity of the Blessed Virgin Mary Christian (Catholic) Saturday, January 1, 2022
Feast of the Epiphany Christian Thursday, January 6, 2022
Christmas/Feast of the Nativity Orthodox Christian Friday, January 7, 2022
Bodhi Day (Rohatsu) Buddhist Monday, January 10, 2022
Imbolc Wicca/Pagan Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Asian Lunar New Year (Chinese) Confucian/Taoist /Buddhist Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Presentation of Our Lord in the Temple Christian Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Parinirvana (Nirvana Day) Buddhist Tuesday, February 15, 2022
Nineteen Day Fast*# Bahai'i Tuesday, March 1-Sunday, March 20, 2022
Laylat al Miraj*# Islam Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Ash Wednesday (Protestant and Roman Catholic Lenten season Mar 7-Apr 16) Christian  Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Orthodox Great Lent Eastern Orthodox Monday, March 7-Saturday, April 23, 2022
Purim* Jewish Wedensday, March 16-Thursday, March 17, 2022
Holi Hindu Thursday, March 17-Friday, March 18, 2022
Ostara Wicca/Pagan Sunday, March 20, 2022
The Bahai'i New Year Bahai'i Monday, March 21, 2022
Norooz (New Year) Persian/Zoroastrian Monday, March 21, 2022
Ramadan (29-30 days)*# Islamic Saturday, April 2-Monday, May 2, 2022
Hindu New Year Hindu Saturday, April 2, 2022
Palm Sunday Christian Sunday, April 10, 2022
Maundy Thursday Christian Thursday, April 14, 2022
Vaisakhi Hindu/Sikh/Buddhist Thursday, April 14, 2022
Mahavir Jayanti Jain Thursday, April 14, 2022
Good Friday Christian Friday, April 15, 2022
Passover [Pesach-8 days]* Jewish Friday, April 15-Saturday, April 23, 2022
Easter Christian Sunday, April 17, 2022
Palm Sunday Orthodox Christian Sunday, April 17, 2022
The First Day of Ridvan Baha'i Thursday, April 21, 2022
Holy Friday Orthodox Christian Friday, April 22, 2022
Easter (Pascha) Orthodox Christian Sunday, April 24, 2022
Yom Hashoah Jewish Wednesday, April 27-Thursday, April 28, 2022
Beltane Wicca/Pagan Sunday, May 1, 2022
Eid al Fitr*# Islamic Monday, May 2-Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Buddah's Birthday Buddhist Sunday, May 8, 2022
Pentecost Orthodox Christian Thursday, May 12, 2022
Vesak (Buddha Day) Buddhist Monday, May 16, 2022
Birthday of the Buddha Buddhist Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Declaration of the Báb* Bahá'i Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Ascension   Christian Thursday, May 26, 2022
Ascension of Baha'ullah Bahá'i Sunday, May 29, 2022
Shavuot Jewish Saturday, June 4-Monday, June 6, 2022
Feast of Pentecost Christian Sunday, June 5, 2022
Ascension Orthodox Christian Sunday, June 12, 2022
Litha-Yule (Solstice)  Wicca/Pagan Friday, June 24, 2022
Eid al Adha*#   Islamic Saturday, July 9-Sunday, July 10, 2022
Pioneer Day  The Church of Jesus Christ of
 Latter-day Saints
Sunday, July 24, 2022
First of Muharram* Islamic Friday, July 29-Saturday, July 30, 2022
Lughnasadh-Imbolc Wicca/Pagan Monday, August 1, 2022
Ashura*# Islamic Sunday, August 7-Monday, August 8, 2022
Obon Buddhist Saturday, August 13, 2022
Krishna Janmashtami Hindu Thursday, August 18-Friday, August 19, 2022
Paryushana Parva Jain Tuesday, August 23, 2022
Ganesh Chaturthi Hindu Wednesday, August 31, 2022
Mabon Wicca/Pagan Wednesday, September 21-Thursday, September 29, 2022
Fall Equinox Wicca/Pagan Thursday, September 22, 2022
Rosh Hashanah [New Year]* Jewish Sunday, September 25-Tuesday, September 27, 2022
Navratri Hindu Monday, September 26-Wednesday, October 5, 2022
Yom Kippur [Day of Atonement]* Jewish Tuesday, October 4-Wednesday, October 5, 2022
Dussehra  Hindu Wednesday, October 5, 2022
Sukkot [Feast of Tabernacles-7 days] Jewish Sunday, October 9-Sunday, October 16, 2022
Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah* Jewish Sunday, October 16-Tuesday, October 18, 2022
Diwali Jain/Sikh/Hindu Monday, October 24, 2022
Birth of the Bab* Bahai'i Tuesday, October 25-Wednesday, October 26, 2022
Samhain* Wicca/Pagan Monday, October 31-Tuesday, November 1, 2022
All Saints Day Christian Tuesday, November 1, 2022
Day of the Dead Christian (Latinx) Tuesday, November 1-Wednesday, November 2, 2022
Guru Nanak Gurpurab Sikh Tuesday, November 8, 2022
Jain New Year Jain Thursday, November 24, 2022
Advent Christian Sunday, November 27-Saturday, December 24, 2022
Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian Thursday, December 8, 2022
Our Lady of Guadalupe Christian Monday, December 12, 2022
Chanukah (Hanukkah) [8-days]* Jewish Saturday, December 18-Monday, December 26, 2022
Yule/Winter Solstice Wicca Wednesday, December 21, 2022-Sunday, January 1, 2023
Christmas Christian Sunday, December 25, 2022
Kwanzaa African-American Monday, December 26, 2022-Sunday, January 1, 2023
Feast of the Holy Family Christian Friday, December 30, 2022

 

* Some holy days (*) start at sundown of the evening of the listed start date and end at sundown or nightfall of the concluding listed date.

 # Some of these dates are not fixed to a calendar but based on the actual sighting of the moon and therefore there may be some variance by a day.

 For additional information, please contact The Tucker Center: 603-646-3870 or tucker.center@dartmouth.edu.