Fellowship Endowments

Dartmouth General Fellowships

These awards may be used for proposed graduate study or projects in the U.S. or abroad. Applicants must submit evidence of academic merit as well as a well-conceived program of graduate study, independent research, or a creative project. Citizenship is not a factor in selection, but financial need may be considered. Maximum award is $5,500.


  • Fred DeMerritte Barker Memorial Fund
  • Richard Crawford Campbell, Jr., 1921 Memorial Fund (intended for English Department graduate or student pursuing English graduate studies)
  • George E. Chamberlin 1860 Memorial Fund
  • James K. Colby 1838 Memorial Fund (preference for graduates who intend to teach law and political science or to enter public service)
  • Charles O. Miller, Jr., Memorial Fund
  • Henry E. Parker 1841 Fund
  • James B. Richardson 1857 Memorial Fund

Paul L. ’83 and Neil T. McGorrian Fellowship

Paul McGorrian '83 died tragically in 1989 while pursuing a career as a foreign correspondent in Pakistan, only months after the untimely death of his younger brother, Neil. Early in 1989, Paul and his family initiated the Neil McGorrian Fellowship to honor Neil's many interests, in particular world languages and cultures. When Paul died unexpectedly, his name was added to the Fellowship. The McGorrian Fellowship embodies the spirit that motivated the lives of both men: a desire to learn about the world and to communicate that knowledge to other Americans, a passion for the truth and the courage to face challenges. Awards are for proposed projects or post-graduate study lasting between two months to one year and are not renewable. Priority is for proposals involving foreign travel or study reflecting the McGorrian spirit as well as intended career in some aspect of foreign affairs and cultures, including journalism, the arts, education, diplomacy, preservation of indigenous cultures, environmental work, humanitarian relief, and economic development. There are no restrictions on location of foreign travel. Projects including graduate study will be considered, but priority will be given to proposals that do not include pursuit of a graduate degree. Awards are restricted to graduating seniors who are U.S. citizens or permanent residence of the U.S.  The maximum award is $5,000.

H. Allen Brooks Travelling Fellowship

Awarded yearly to one graduating senior or recent Dartmouth alumni/ae to pursue architecture, urban planning, land conservation, historic preservation, architectural and urban history, and/or art history. Applicants should be committed to graduate work and to a career in one of these fields. The fellowship is intended to provide financial support to study outside of a regular academic program through travel and contemplation, while observing, reading, writing, sketching and acquiring knowledge that will be useful to his or her future work and to society. This fellowship is not intended to support work towards an academic degree. Fellowship recipients may study in any foreign country for one year. The award is non-renewable. Citizenship is not a factor, and there are no restrictions on travel destination(s). The maximum award is $15,000.

James B. Reynolds Scholarship for Foreign Study

Based on the will of James B. Reynolds, class of 1890, the awards support postgraduate study or projects for Dartmouth seniors or recent graduates. Scholars may study or conduct research in any field in any foreign country, usually in affiliation with a recognized educational institution and in conformity with a definite program of study or research. Study and projects should be a full academic year (minimum of 9 months). Students must arrange their own programs and/or gain admissions to the universities of their choice. Applications to European universities, especially British universities, should be made fall term. The scholarship is for U.S. citizens only. Non-citizens may be considered if they have applied for U.S. citizenship. The maximum award is $20,000.

Alfred K. Priest Fellowship

Joseph K. Priest established the Alfred K. Priest fund at Dartmouth College in memory of his son. The fund supports fellowships for Dartmouth College graduates who have demonstrated unusual promise, enabling them to pursue graduate study at Harvard University. Selection will focus on applicants' potential for excellence in their chosen fields and capacity for leadership, as well as financial need. The maximum award is $10,000.

William Hill Memorial Loan

This loan program awards one loan per year up to $10,000 at a 3% interest, to be used for graduate study. Awards are granted on the basis of financial need and academic promise. The loan is non-interest bearing until the completion of graduate study. Principal and interest shall be repaid within seven years with the following exception: students actively engaged in full-time elementary school, secondary school or college teaching or administration may be forgiven up to 50% of the principal and given ten years to repay the balance of the loan and interest.

Senior Law Prizes

Charles H. Woodbury (1879) Memorial Fund
Established as a gift from Mrs. Frances E. Woodbury. Each year the fund will make awards to "two students of the Senior Class who are intending to make law a profession and who have shown by previous college work special attainment and fitness for the study of law."

Fred C. Scribner, Jr. 1930 Fellowship
Established as a gift from the law firm of Pierce, Atwood, Scribner, Allen, Smith and Lancaster of Portland, Maine in honor of Mr. Scribner's 80th Birthday, the fellowship will be awarded to a Dartmouth College graduating senior. In keeping with Mr. Scribner's wishes, first preference is to be given to Dartmouth seniors from the state of Maine.

Fred C. Scribner, Jr. and James H. Hamlen Fund
Established as a gift from James H. Hamlen, the award is to be given to a Dartmouth College graduating senior as he/she enrolls in an accredited law school. Preference is to be given to Dartmouth seniors from the state of Maine.