Academic Departments and Programs

Contact information, location, and links to department web pages

Academic Departments and Programs

Most academic department/program websites maintain detailed information on courses, majors/minors, off-campus programs, and other offerings. Listed below are the most recent calendar of courses for departments and programs that provide such a list.  We update this list from time to time as more information becomes available, but when in doubt, you can contact the Chair of the department or the Departmental Administrator.

 

African and African American Studies (AAAS)

Choate House • 646-3397 • aaas@dartmouth.edu 

Chair: Professor Ayo Coly, For pre-major advice, please contact: Professor Ayo Coly

Upcoming Courses

 

Anthropology

Silsby Hall, Room 408 • 646-3256 • anthropology.department@dartmouth.edu

http://anthropology.dartmouth.edu/  

Chair:  Jesse Casana, Department Administrator:  Julie.b.gilman@dartmouth.edu 

 

Art History

Carpenter Hall • 646-2306 • 

http://arthistory.dartmouth.edu/

Ada.Cohen@dartmouth.edu (Chair) 

 

Asian Societies, Cultures, and Languages

Anonymous Hall, Room 221 • 646-0434 • 

https://ascl.dartmouth.edu/

Program Administrator: Britny Town For pre-major advice, contact Professor Allen Hockley (Chair)

 

Biological Sciences

Life Sciences Center, Room 130 • 646-3847 • Biological.Sciences@dartmouth.edu

https://biology.dartmouth.edu/    

Chair:  Thomas Jack

 

Chemistry

Burke Laboratory • 646-2501 • Chemistry@dartmouth.edu

http://chemistry.dartmouth.edu/  For pre-major advice, contact Prof. F. Jon Kull, Prof. Dale Mierke, or Prof. Michael Ragusa.

 

Classics

Reed Hall, Room 201 • 646-3394 •

http://www.dartmouth.edu/~classics 

Margaret.Graver@dartmouth.edu (Chair); For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Margaret Graver.

 

Cognitive Science

Reed Hall, Room 201 • 646-0336 • Cognitive.Science@dartmouth.edu

https://cognitive-science.dartmouth.edu/ 

For pre-major advice, contact Adina Roskies (Chair), Adina.Roskies@dartmouth.edu

 

Comparative Literature

Reed Hall, Room 201 • 646-2912 • Comparative.Literature@dartmouth.edu

http://complit.dartmouth.edu/  For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Larry Kritzman

 

Computer Science

Sudikoff Laboratory, Room 203 

http://web.cs.dartmouth.edu/undergraduate  

For pre-major advice, contact:

Prasad Jayanti (Summer term, 646-8891)

Xia Zhou (Fall term, 646-8871)

Deeparnab Chakrabarty (Winter, 603-359-7803)

 

Earth Sciences

Fairchild Hall, Room 227 • 646-2373 • Earth.Sciences@dartmouth.edu  http://earthsciences.dartmouth.edu/  For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Leslie Sonder.

 

Economics

Rockefeller Hall, Room 311 • 646-2538 • Economics@dartmouth.edu

http://economics.dartmouth.edu/undergraduate-info

 

Education

Raven House • 646-9043

http://educ.dartmouth.edu/  

For advice about the Education Minor, contact Prof. Michele Tine.

 

Engineering Sciences

Thayer School of Engineering • 646-2888 • 

http://engineering.dartmouth.edu/academics/undergraduate

Jenna.Wheeler@dartmouth.edu (Admin.)   Most full time ENGS faculty serve as pre-major advisors. Contact Jenna Wheeler for more information.

 

English and Creative Writing

Sanborn House, Room 201 • 646-2316 

https://english.dartmouth.edu/  

Contact the department administrator, Kate Gibbel, 646-2316 katherine.h.gibbel@dartmouth.edu

 

Environmental Studies

Steele Hall, Room 112 • 646-2838 • Kim.Wind@dartmouth.edu (Admin)  http://envs.dartmouth.edu/  

For pre-major advice, contact Kim Wind or Prof. Doug Bolger.

 

Film and Media Studies

Black Visual Arts Center, 2nd Floor • 646-3402 • paula.holwerda@dartmouth.edu

http://www.dartmouth.edu/~film  

For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Mary Flanagan or Paula Holwera.

 

French and Italian (FRIT)

178/179 Berry Library • 646-2400 • Jazmine.Gittens-Roberts@dartmouth.edu

http://frandit.dartmouth.edu/  

Questions about programs and classes can also be directed to Chair, Prof. David LaGuardia.

 

Geography

Fairchild Hall, Room 117 • 646-3378 • Geography@dartmouth.edu (Faculty)  https://geography.dartmouth.edu/  

For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Christopher Sneddon.

 

German Studies

Dartmouth Hall, Room 333 • 646-2408 • 

 http://german.dartmouth.edu

For pre-major advice, contact Chair: Klaus Mladek

 

Government

Silsby Hall, Room 211 • 646-2544 • Government.Department@dartmouth.edu

http://govt.dartmouth.edu/

 

History

Carson Hall, Room 300 • 646-2545 • history@dartmouth.edu

http://history.dartmouth.edu/undergraduate  

For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Jennifer Miller (vice-chair).

 

Humanities

261 Haldeman Center • 

https://www.dartmouth.edu/hums1-2/ 

Director:  Rebecca Biron  Contact:  Humanities.I.and.II@dartmouth.edu

 

Institute for Writing and Rhetoric

37 Dewey Field Road, Room 233 • 646-9748 • Writing.Program@dartmouth.edu

Director: James E. Dobson.

 

Jewish Studies

Reed Hall, Room 201 • 646-0475 • jewish.studies@dartmouth.edu

http://jewish.dartmouth.edu/  

For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Susannah Heschel.

 

Latin American, Latino, and Caribbean Studies (LALACS)

Raven House, Room 202 • 646-1640 • laurie.l.furch@dartmouth.edu (Admin)  http://lalacs.dartmouth.edu/  

For pre-major advice, contact Matthew Garcia (Chair).

 

Linguistics

Anonymous Hall, Room 221 • 646-0332 • Department Administrator: Britny Town 

http://linguistics.dartmouth.edu 

For pre-major advice, contact Professor James Stanford (Chair)

 

Mathematics

Kemeny Hall, Room 337 • 646-3179 • fyadvising@math.dartmouth.edu https://www.math.dartmouth.edu/undergraduate/first-year-students/  

For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Erik van Erp at fyadvising@math.dartmouth.edu

 

Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Carson Hall, Room 210 • 646-9280 • 

http://medren.dartmouth.edu 

For pre-major advice, contact Cecilia Gaposchkin or Christopher MacEvitt

 

Middle Eastern Studies Program

Reed Hall Room 207 • 646-2861 • 

https://mes.dartmouth.edu/

Program Administrator:  Thomas Pike Chair: Christopher MacEvitt

 

Music

Hopkins Center, Room M7 • 646-3531 • music@dartmouth.edu

https://music.dartmouth.edu/undergraduate/requirements-major-and-minor-music  

For pre-Major advice, contact Prof. William Cheng.

 

Native American and Indigenous Studies

Sherman House • 646-3530 • Native.American.Studies@dartmouth.edu

http://native-american.dartmouth.edu/  

For pre-Major advice, contact Prof. Bruce Duthu.

 

Philosophy

Thornton Hall • 646-8172 • Philosophy@dartmouth.edu

https://philosophy.dartmouth.edu/curriculum/major-and-minor 

For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Amie L. Thomasson, Chair of Philosophy

 

Physics and Astronomy

Wilder Laboratory, Room 105 • 646-2854 • physics.department@dartmouth.edu

http://physics.dartmouth.edu/  

For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Jim LaBelle.

 

Psychological and Brain Sciences (PBS)

Moore Hall • 646-3181 psychological.and.brain.sciences@dartmouth.edu

http://pbs.dartmouth.edu/

Department Chair: Bradley Duchaine. For pre-major advice, contact Professor Ann Clark. Department Administrator: Julia Abraham

 

Public Policy

For more information, contact Professor Ronald Shaiko or Laura Mitchell, program officer, at (603) 646-2229.

 

Quantitative Social Science

Silsby Hall, Room 211 • 646-2544 • qss@dartmouth.edu  

For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Michael Herron (6-2693) or Andrew Coombs (6-9595).

 

Dartmouth Consortium of Studies in Race, Migration, and Sexuality (RMS)

Contact:  rms@dartmouth.edu or https://sites.dartmouth.edu/rms/ 

 

Religion

Thornton Hall • 646-3738 • Religion@dartmouth.edu

http://religion.dartmouth.edu/  

For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Reiko Ohnuma.

 

Russian Language and Literature

Reed Hall, Room 204 • 359-9287 • Russian.Department@dartmouth.edu

http://russian.dartmouth.edu/  

For pre-major advice, contact Prof. Victoria Somoff.

 

Sociology

Blunt Hall, Room 302 • 646-2554 • Marc.Dixon@dartmouth.edu (Chair)  http://sociology.dartmouth.edu

 

Spanish and Portuguese

Dartmouth Hall, Room 218 • 646-1462 • Jillene.Syphus@Dartmouth.edu (Admin.)  http://spanport.dartmouth.edu/

 

Studio Art

Black Visual Arts, Room 302 • 646-2285 • studio.art.department@dartmouth.edu

http://studioart.dartmouth.edu/undergraduate

 

Theater

Hopkins Center, Shakespeare Alley Room 110 • 646-3104 • Theater@dartmouth.edu

https://theater.dartmouth.edu/undergraduate-overview  

For pre-major advice, contact the chair, Prof. Dan Kotlowitz.

 

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (WGSS)

Baker Library, Room 200B • 646-2722 • wgss@dartmouth.edu

http://wgs.dartmouth.edu/  

For pre-major advice, contact Dennis Washburn (chair) or Bevan Dunbar (administrator).