2019 Symposium Highlights

Keynote Address: Dr. Paulina Jaramillo

Dr. Jaramillo presented "Energy for Development in a Carbon-Constrained World: A Researcher's Story" and spoke about her career, her research, and provided some sage advice to the audience. Her full address can be seen in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1uyFy0ryvqs

The Christopher Reed Science Competition

The Competition will be judged on the day of the symposium by a panel of Sigma Xi members. The judges' evaluations are based on the quality and quantity of research and the effectiveness of the student's presentation.

The winners of the competition were announced at the end of the virtual keynote address. The award-winning powerpoints from the competition will be posted below by June 15. The winners also receive cash awards.

All seniors who participate in this competition and complete their thesis are nominated for Associate Membership in Sigma Xi. The competition is sponsored by the Dartmouth Chapter of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society.

The 2020 Sigma Xi first place winner:
Effective Prophylactic Murine Ovarian Cancer Vaccine by Courtney Stump, '20

Library Research in the Sciences Prize

This year's competition was cancelled. 

2019 WISP Engagement Award Recipients

The WISP Research Engagement Award recognizes a WISP Intern who has exhibited sustained engagement and enthusiasm about learning through research. The 2019 recipients included:

  • Catherine (Katya) Golubovsky '23
  • Katherine A. Miller '23